DFPS Announces Next Two Community Based Care Expansion Areas

As anticipated, DFPS announced the two additional catchment areas where it will seek to expand Community Based Care (CBC) during Fiscal Year 2019, as authorized by the legislature. The two areas are:

  • Region 1 (all counties) – this is the Texas Panhandle including Amarillo and Lubbock.
  • Region 8B (Atascosa, Bandera, Calhoun, Comal, De Witt, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Jackson, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Lavaca, Maverick, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Wilson and Zavala counties) – these counties form a crescent surrounding Bexar County to the south.

The Department anticipates releasing a Request for Application (RFA) for Region 1 in September 2018, followed by a RFA for Region 8B in March 2019. These two new catchment areas will bring the total to five areas of the state moving forward with CBC. Region 3B, Region 2 and Region 8A (Bexar County) have already had contracts awarded.

Under Community Based Care, the state is divided into 17 geographic regions known as catchment areas, and contracts are procured with nonprofit entities to serve as Single Source Continuum Contractors (SSCC) for those regions. SSCCs assume responsibility for serving children and families in their catchment area in a staged fashion, beginning with responsibility for placement in foster care. For additional information on CBC, see this DFPS webpage, or email Andy Homer, Texas CASA Public Affairs Executive Director, at [email]ahomer@texascasa.org[/email].